Spirituality & Worship
Celebrating The Season

Seasons of the Church Year

All Christians are part of the Christian story. The seasons of the church year help give us a way to experience how this is so. Seasons provide opportunities to observe, commemorate, and celebrate certain events or occasions. The Christian church, following earlier Jewish tradition, has long used the seasons of the year as an opportunity for festivals (i.e., feasts, celebrations) and sacred time set aside to worship God as the Lord of life.While Jewish celebrations revolve around the Exodus from Egypt, Christians focus on the life and ministry of Jesus.

The sequence of festivals from Advent to Resurrection Sunday becomes an annual spiritual journey for worshippers as they kneel at the manger, listen on a hillside, walk the streets of Jerusalem, hear the roar of the mob, stand beneath the cross, and witness the resurrection!

The rest of the church year provides time to reflect on the meaning of the coming of Jesus and his commission to his people to be a light to the world.

The Church Year is ordered according to six seasons that each celebrate a part of Christian faith and life. You can most easily tell what season we are in by the color of the clergy's vestments and the altar cloth hangings. Some seasons have the same color, so that can be a bit tricky, but if you know what time of year it is that helps match the color with the season. Special services, such as Baptism, can also confuse things as we have paticular colors that may not match the season we are in. Don't worry to much about it, someone can always explain it and after a while you'll figure out (and then can help explain it to others). We also try to do little reminders about the seasons of the church year as we move from season to season.

Ordinary Time

Ordinary Time

Right now, we are celebrating Ordinary Time, the part of the church year that comes after Pentecost and before the whole cycle begins anew in Advent.

The term "Ordinary Time" may be misleading. In the context of the liturgical or church year the term "ordinary" does not mean "usual or average." Ordinary here means "not seasonal." Ordinary Time is that part of the Liturgical Year that lies outside the seasons of Lent-Easter and Advent-Christmas.

In Ordinary Time, the Church celebrates the mystery of Christ not in one specific aspect but in all its aspects. The readings during the liturgies of Ordinary Time help to instruct us on how to live out our Christian faith in our daily lives.  We celebrate the Holy Spirit that Jesus sent in His stead, and use the gifts that the Holy Spirit gives us in order to build up each other, the church as a whole, and the society as a whole.

All Liturgical Seasons & Colors

Advent (Blue): The church year begins with the Advent of Our Lord, the four weeks of getting ready for the birth of Jesus in Bethlehem on Christmas Day. Advent is a time of joyful preparation for the wonderful time when the Son of God came to earth to live as a person among regular people.

Christmas (White) is a short season, beginning with Christmas Day, December 25, and continuing through the Name of Jesus until Epiphany. Christmas is a season of thankfulness for the goodness of God. The color of Christmas is white.

Epiphany (White on Epiphany & Baptism of our Lord, Green after) begins on January 6, the day the Wise Men came to Bethlehem to worship the Baby Jesus. Epiphany is a season of worship, as the whole world follows the Wise Men to find and honor Jesus.

Lent (Purple) begins with Ash Wednesday and is a season of self-examination and quiet contemplation of the mysteries of God. Christians prepare for the death of their sins and worldly selves with the death of Jesus on the cross on Good Friday as they follow his footsteps through Holy Week (during Holy Week we use Red for Christ's Passion).

Easter (White) begins with Easter Sunday. It is a glorious celebration of Jesus' resurrection from the dead. It is a season of praise, as Christians glorify the risen Christ.  There are fifty days of the Easter season that ends on the Day of Pentecost (we use red on Pentecost) when we celebrate the sending of the Holy Spirit on the apostles (the "birthday of the Church").

Season After Pentecost (or Ordinary Time) (Green) lasts for almost half the church year and how long depends on where Easter falls on the calendar.  This is a season where we focus on celebrating the Holy Spirit and how that sends us out in mission through evangelism and outreach.